Two BAICE Exec Members Elected to the Fellowship of the Academy of Social Sciences

BAICE is delighted to announce that Professor Tejendra Pherali (BAICE Chair) and Professor Ricardo Sabates Aysa (BAICE Treasurer) have been announced as new Fellows of the Academy of Social Sciences.

Tejendra Pherali Bio Pic

Professor Pherali is an internationally acclaimed scholar in the rapidly growing area of education in conflict and protracted crises. Over the last 15 years, his work has shaped education in emergencies programmes that support access to quality learning for children and young people in contexts of violent conflicts and refugee situations. His research and educational partnerships in Nepal, Somalia, Jordan, Lebanon and Myanmar have assisted educational practitioners, academics and researchers to develop new approaches to educational delivery and promote education’s role in peacebuilding and social transformation. 

Professor Sabates Aysa’s expertise is the advancement of knowledge on inequalities in social outcomes of learning. This is particularly the case in low and low middle income countries, but his research has been influential in measuring and understanding the wider social outcomes of education in the UK. His research has focused on the conditions under which social benefits can be realised over the life course and which factors explain widening social attainment gaps in adulthood. His work offers new insights into the health benefits of education; the intergenerational transmission of educational success; the benefits of education in terms of civic participation, reduced crime and enhanced social cohesion; the role of adult learning for improving social and economic wellbeing; and the effectiveness of educational opportunities to the most marginalised children.  

Ricardo Sabates bio pic

Both have made an outstanding contribution to BAICE, and the wider field of international and comparative education.

Thank you to BAICE’s Academy Nominations Committee, chaired by Professor Michael Crossley, for their encouragement and guidance through the nominations process.